Frequently Asked Questions
Are Your Items Gluten Free?
Yes! Not only are all of our items gluten free, but they are made in a dedicated gluten free facility. All of the ingredients we purchase to make our chocolates and confections are manufactured in facilities that do not use gluten or shared equipment; they are dedicated gluten free facilities as well!
**THERE IS ONE EXCEPTION - we sell a product called Crispycakes which are not made by The Chocolate Shoppe. Because the brand of rice crispies used to make this product contains malt, we cannot recommend these to people who have celiac disease or a gluten intolerance. All of these items are prepared outside of our facility in a separate kitchen, and are stored in a separate area of our facility that is not shared with any other products.
Are Your Items Wheat Free?
All of the ingredients we purchase to make our chocolates and confections are manufactured in facilities that do not use wheat or shared equipment.
**THERE IS ONE EXCEPTION - our line of specialty Cupcake Truffles, Dessert Truffles and Halloween/Holiday Truffles contain a few truffle flavors that are made with gluten free wheat starch as a thickener. All of these items are prepared in a separate kitchen, and are stored in a separate area of our facility that is not shared with any other products.
Wheat starch is NOT a wheat grain or wheat protein, and is considered gluten free by the FDA. While wheat starch is NOT a wheat protein, we do not recommend these to people who have celiac disease or a gluten intolerance.
Some of the truffles in this particular product line also contain Glucose Syrup, which is typically made from wheat which is processed to remove gluten proteins. Glucose syrup is considered safe for those with Celiac Disease, but may be triggering to those who are highly sensitive. For a complete list of the truffles containing these ingredients (and which truffles are safe for Celiac Disease), please contact us directly.
Are Your Items Peanut Free?
This is a tricky question to answer, so here goes; we do NOT use peanuts or have loose peanuts within our facility. All of the ingredients we purchase to make our own branded chocolates and confections come from certified peanut free facilities and do not contain peanuts. However, we do sell items made with peanut butter, including our Peanut Butter Cups, Peanut Butter Fudge, Peanut Butter truffles and Peanut Butter filled eggs at Easter. These items are prepared outside of our facility in a separate kitchen, and are stored in a separate area of our facility that is not shared with any other products. We also offer items from time to time that are made with M&M's®, which are not made in a peanut free facility, so we recommend avoiding these items. If you have a peanut allergy, please feel free to call us, email us, or visit our Plano manufacturing facility to discuss your allergies and we can guide you through safe options.
Are Your Items Egg Free?
All of the ingredients we purchase to make our chocolates and confections do not contain egg. However, we do make three confections that require the use of egg whites; butter creams (all flavors including Jumbo Easter Eggs), our Lemon Cheesecake Pie Slice Truffle, and our Pecan Pie Cupcake Truffle. These truffles can be purchased individually in our Plano location where cross-contamination has not occurred. All of these items are prepared in a separate kitchen, and are stored in a separate area of our facility that is not shared with any other products.
Are Your Sprinkles Allergy-Friendly?
Yes! The sprinkles we use are manufactured in a dairy free, egg free, gluten free, peanut free, tree nut free and Kosher facility! Also, our sprinkles do not contain confectioner's glaze or shellac...which makes our sprinkles vegan!
Are Your Items Organic?
While our products are not "certified" organic, we use many certified organic ingredients (or when organic is not available, only Non-GMO Project verified ingredients) in all of our chocolates and confections. ALL of our products are non-GMO and do not contain the use of pesticides.
Do You Use Tree Nuts in Your Products?
Yes, our facility specifically uses almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, pecans, pistachios, and walnuts. We take great precautions when making products that contain nuts, and use separate equipment and separate storage for these items. However, because we are not a nut free facility, and several of our ingredients come from companies that may have nuts in their facilities, any product we make could contain trace amounts of these specific nuts.
Do You Use Soy in Your Products?
Yes, all of our chocolates and confections are made with Belgian chocolate which contains soy lecithin as an emulsifier. Lecithin is a "bonding" agent that allows the cocoa butter to blend with the cocoa powder. If you have a soy allergy, we do not recommend purchasing our chocolates. We are starting to add Paleo products to our menu, so be sure to check our dairy free/vegan collections for these items which do not contain soy. Effective September 2023, all of our vegan products are now SOY FREE and prepared with chocolate made with sunflower lecithin.
Do You Use Coconut in Your Products?
Yes, many of our chocolates and confections contain coconut oil. Most of our vegan products contain coconut milk. Our Coconut Haystacks and our Toasted Coconut Truffles contain shredded coconut.
Do You Use Corn in Your Products?
Most of our products are corn free, but our fudge, pecan turtles, salted caramels, and sponge candy require the use of corn syrup to make those products. Our sprinkles also contain cornstarch, and our caramel apples and caramel popcorn flavors are made with corn syrup. All of our products are labeled with full ingredient details. Our vegan caramel is made with coconut oil, and therefore is corn free.
Do You Make Sugar Free Products?
No, we do not make any sugar free products. We offer a small product line of Paleo chocolates that use maple sugar and/or coconut sugar. We do not use artificial sweeteners or sugar substitutes in any of our chocolates and have no plans to do so. Sorry, keto friends!
Are Your Vegan Items Really Vegan?
Yes! The founder of our company was vegan for several years and is well-educated in the area of vegan foods and products. We use only plant-based ingredients in all of our vegan chocolates. We do not use honey in any of our chocolates. Our sprinkles are made without confectioner's glaze or shellac. We use coconut milk or coconut cream to create our vegan caramel, vegan fudge and vegan truffles. The sugar used to make all of our chocolates and confections is non bone-char organic cane sugar. These items are made and stored in a separate area of our facility on separate equipment that is not shared with any other products.
Are Your Chocolates Made With Fair Trade Ingredients?
Yes! We purchase all of our cocoa, cacao nibs, cacao butter, and other chocolate ingredients from companies that are certified fair trade, and only exhibit the highest standard of moral practices from the fields where their cacao pods are grown all the way to our front door.
When Will I Receive My Items?
We prepare all of our chocolates on Mondays and Tuesdays and ship on Tuesdays and Wednesdays for orders that come in by Sunday evening. Because each and every item is handmade, you will receive your order approximately 7-10 days from the date of your order (USA addresses only).
Do You Make Other Items That Aren't Shown Here on Your Website?
Yes! Our kitchen offers over 400 different chocolates and confections throughout the year, so as you can imagine, we just can't showcase them all year long. Some items such as chocolate caramel apples, candied bacon chocolates, hand-dipped and decorated chocolate covered strawberries, certain fudge flavors and popcorn flavors, truffle collections, or our "special of the week" are offered seasonally and may only appear once per year. Be sure to follow our Instagram and Facebook pages for weekly updates, and check our website frequently for these specialty offerings!
How Long Will My Apples or Strawberries Last?
Chocolate covered caramel apples and strawberries are fresh fruit, so they don't last very long. When purchasing a chocolate caramel apple from us, each box will have a best by date (typically 7 days from the time we make it). If you refrigerate your apple upon purchase, it can last about 3-5 days past the best by date. Be sure to take your apple out of the refrigerator about one hour before eating it. Allowing it to come to room temperature will help the chocolate and the caramel soften for a better experience. However, once you cut your apple open, it is really only good for about 24 hours. Be sure to wrap any uneaten portion of your apple in a tight plastic wrap and put in the refrigerator.
Strawberries are only good for about 24 hours outside of the refrigerator. If you don't eat your strawberries on the day of purchase, we recommend refrigerating them right away. Be sure to take your strawberries out of the refrigerator about one hour before eating them and allow them to come to room temperature; this will keep the chocolate from cracking off when you bite into your strawberries. Strawberries will last up to 3 days from the date of purchase when refrigerated.
How Long Will My Chocolate Bacon Last?
Chocolate covered bacon products are good for 14 days from the date they were created. We typically ship our bacon items the day after they are made, so they will last approximately 10-12 days from the time you receive them. Chocolate bacon items can be refrigerated to extend the shelf life by about 7 days, but please know that this will change the texture of the bacon and the shine of the chocolate.
What is a “Self-Serve Location”?
With the exception of our Plano manufacturing facility, all of our retail locations are “self-serve”, meaning our products are pre-packaged in a kiosk-like display within a mall setting. You are able to walk up and browse our products, pick them up, read ingredient labels, and see each and every product that we make in a self-serve setting. We do not sell loose or individual candies in a case as seen in most chocolate shops, and we do not sell fresh fruit items (except for caramel apples) in these locations. When making a purchase, you take the products of your choice to the mall cashier at checkout.